Alumnae Anniversary

Alumnae Anniversary Award

The Women's and Gender Studies Department, along with the MU Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women, is now accepting nominations for the Alumnae Anniversary Award.

The deadline for submission is Wednesday, February 6th, 2019.

Electronic nomination packets should be submitted to Tiffany Horton, Administrative Assistant, Department of Women’s & Gender Studies,

A nomination packet should include:

  • Name and contact information of the nominee
  • Name and contact information for all nominators
  • At least two but no more than four letters of nomination that describe why the faculty member is deserving of the award. At least one nominator must be a current MU student or recent alum.

Alumnae Anniversary Fund

The Women's and Gender Studies Department, along with the MU Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women, administers the Alumnae Anniversary Fund for the Recognition of Faculty Women. This fund was created in 1970 to support faculty women on the Columbia campus who are notable for their teaching excellence and/or other contributions to the education of women. An award is given annually to an outstanding faculty member at the University of Missouri. The fund and annual awards were conceived to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the admittance of women to the University.

For information about giving to the fund, see Giving to the Department.

Past Recipients

2018 Rabia Grergory, Religious Studies
        Anne Ruldoff Stanton, School of Visual Studies
        Michelle Teti, Health Sciences

2017 Tina Bloom, Nursing
        Yong Volz, Journalism
        Kathleen Trauth, Civil/Environmental Engineering

2016 Candace Galen, Philosophy
        Marjorie Sable, School of Social Work

2015 Claire Horisk, Philosophy
        Martha Townsend, English

2014 Julia Gaines, Percussion, School of Music 
        Lois Huneycutt, History

2013 LeeAnn Whites, History

2011 Miriam Golomb, Biological Sciences

2010 M. Heather Carver, Theatre

2009 Jeni Hart, Educational Leadership & Policy Analysis

2008 Sheila Grant, Biological Engineering 
        Linda Reeder, History

2007 Devoney Looser, English

2006 JoAnne Banks-Wallace, Nursing

2005 Barbara J. Bank, Sociology

1998 Lisa Sattenspiel, Anthropology

1997 Elaine Lawless, English
        Kay Libbus, Nursing

1996 Kathy Thornburg, Human Development & Family Studies
        Patricia Crown, Art History & Archaeology

1995 Mary Jo Neitz, Sociology

1994 Marilyn Coleman, Human Development & Family Studies

1993 Mary Manderino, Nursing

1992 Nanette Laughrey, Law

1991 Bina Gupta, Philosophy

1990 Carolyn Dorsey, Higher & Adult Education & Foundations

1989 Susan Porter Benson, History

1988 Maureen Brown, Nursing
        Betty Scott, Music

1987 Marjorie Marlin, Psychology

1986 Elaine Charlson, Electrical & Computer Engineering

1985 Catherine N. Parke, English

1984 Barbara J. Bank, Sociology

1983 Robin R. Remington, Political Science

1982 Winifred B. Horner, English

1981 Marilee Howell, Physical Education

1980 Cynthia M. Trim, D.V.M., Anesthesiology

1979 Elizabeth J. James, M.D., Director of Perinatal Medicine

1978 Charlotte G. Wells, Speech & Dramatic Arts

1977 Joan M. Krauskopf, Law

1976 Clara Louise Hanser Myers, Social Work

1975 Margaret W. Mangel, Home Economics

1974 S. Luverne Walton, Germanic & Slavic Studies

1973 Merea Williams, Education

1972 Dorothy S. Holsinger, Physical Education

1971 Frances L. McCurdy, Speech & Dramatic Arts

1970 Helen S. Allen, Home Economics